Jumping In

When I hear the term “Jump In” I think of water, and then the stereotype pops in my head that black people cant swim, how cliche. Truth be told I can’t swim but it’s not because I’m black it’s because I never allowed myself to learn how to swim, which brings my topic into play. I could have gotten swimming lessons but I was too proud and let pride get in the way; what forty year old have you seen in the kiddies pool? The brain is a powerful weapon if not careful you will destroy your own hopes and dreams. My pride allowed me to overthink the situation before I even had the chance to experience it, it’s time to rid yourself of negativity. Some of you are contemplating something that could be life changing but you’re afraid of jumping in, afraid of failure. I’m here to tell you that your biggest opprunity is on the other side of fear!! Don’t let age, health, or finances stop you from doing something that you have always had in your heart to do, you are doing a disservice to yourself if you allow your thoughts to doubt your new beginning before you even start. You can do it, it can be done. If I want to swim I am going to do it, if I want to go back to college I am going to do it, if I want to pursue another career I am going to do it. Jump in knowing that you control your destiny and there is always room for growth

                 

Author: Sabrina Gonzalez

#BLOGGER

Leave a Reply

