MLK Memorial 

As I walked around the MLK memorial tears began to fall from my eyes. I couldn’t believe I was actually there! I was standing outside Ebenezer Baptist Church, a church that Dr. King once preached in, I was viewing clothing that Dr. King once wore, I was standing next to  the wagon that carried Dr. King’s casket. As I listened to his prerecorded voice speak the words “I may not get there with you. But I want you to know tonight, that we, as a people, will get to the Promised Land. So I’m happy, tonight. I’m not worried about anything. I’m not fearing any man. Mine eyes have seen the glory of the coming of the Lord” put me in a trance. I believe Dr. King knew he would die but he wasn’t phased by the threats made on his life he stood his ground, he drove out HATE with LOVE. 



To know your history is to love your history and embrace your history. I am a black woman and that will never change, meaning from the inside or outside. Martin Luther King, Jr didn’t know me but he sacrificed his life for my freedom. He preached love and not hate. How can you hate someone based on the color of their skin? How can you deny someone a better education based on the color of their skin? 



I often say I am glad that the Lord didn’t allow me to live in those days because I don’t think I could have went through what my ancestors endured. My ancestors were beaten and killed day in and day out for being black. Racism is wrong, Hatred is wrong!!  I believe that Martin Luther King Jr., was predestined by God, meaning once his work on earth was done he was called home. 

Parents teach your children about Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr, his Holiday shouldn’t be taken for granted or viewed as a free day because he  lost his life for our freedom. LOVE not HATE those that treat you wrong.  This was such an emotional visit for me but I am glad that I got to share it with my family. 


Martin Luther King said “I have a dream that one day little black boys and girls will be holding hands with little white boys and girls.” We still have a ways to go but his dream is coming to fruition. 

Author: Sabrina Gonzalez

#BLOGGER

2 thoughts on “MLK Memorial ”

Leave a Reply

