You’re not  Black Enough 

Your skin is not black enough she said.  You don’t speak like us she said. You don’t dress like us she said. You think you’re better than us she said.

Who is US I asked? 

You know us she said, black people she said. 

How is my skin not black enough I asked? How do I speak I asked? What’s wrong with the clothes I wear I asked? How do I think I’m better I asked? 

Your skin is  brown not black she said, you speak proper not slang she said, you dress white she said, you don’t hang with your own kind she said.

I am African American I said. I speak English I said. I dress professional I said. I love all races I said. 

You must be on welfare huh. Your husband a drug dealer huh. You got hooked on phonics huh. 

Before you judge a person based on their skin color get to know them I said. Every black woman is not on welfare I said. Not every black man is a drug dealer I said. Respect your race I said. Learn to look beyond skin color I said. It costs nothing to educate yourself I said. 

She said nothing 

 

Author: Sabrina Gonzalez

Natural ➰| Blogger 💻 | Vlogger 🎥

Leave a Reply

